Mansfield Jeweller Closes Doors For Good
Renowned jeweller Martin Wilkinson is to close for good after trading in the town for almost 230 years.
A glittering closing down sale will start at 10am on 3rd December in Mansfield, with all jewellery reduced by 50%, including diamond rings, coloured stone pieces, gold, and silver jewellery.
Independent jewellers Martin Wilkinson, owned by Andrew Campin has a rich history dating back to 1794.
Originally named Coral, in the late 1800s jeweller Martin Wilkinson purchased the store and changed its name to match that of his established shop in Newark.
When Mr Wilkinson decided to relinquish ownership of the store sometime later, the successive owners kept the recognised name.
Through many years the Martin Wilkinson store was to see several owners including a local solicitor and a watch mender named Mr Dugdale.
Eventually, in the late 1930s, Edgar William Campin (known as Bill), a skilled watch repairer took the reins, started to establish his reputation not long before World War II broke out.
To help with the war effort, Mr Campin obtained a contract with the Ministry of Defence to repair watches for bomber and fighter aircrews.
He would repair twenty watches a week and his hard work paid off – when the war ended the business was rewarded with an official notification declaring the business ‘the best watch repairers in England.’
In 1968 Bill Campin was joined by his son, Andrew in the business. Andrew who had served a jewellery apprenticeship and obtained his R.J. Diploma, returned to his hometown to help his father Bill who had fallen ill.
Fortunately, Bill made a full recovery, and this would be the start of a long and illustrious career for Andrew. He remains at the helm of Martin Wilkinson to this day and has spent over 54 years successfully running his family business.
Since it was founded, the business has occupied four positions in Mansfield’s town centre, before settling on the current location of Queen Street, in 1974.